Just do it!

After over a year as a missionary in Ireland, England, Scotland, and… Illinois… I opened my laptop three days ago and pulled up my novel in progress. It’s a beautiful reunion.

The draft I have at present is the result of the great writing marathon of my Christmas break from missionary work. I made the mistake of asking my best friend what she wanted for Christmas, and she requested a finished draft after eight years of fruitless writing, cutting, editing, and complete disembowelment of the manuscript. It was rough, but what I am incapable of doing for myself, I will suffer sleepless nights, caffeine headaches, and keyboard calluses on my wrist bones to do for someone else. The draft was completed, with a lot of shoddy summaries of events and slap happy comments made by myself at 3 a.m. Some of the most slap happy include:

(Just realized, he isn’t actually dead yet in this flashback. When less lazy, think of a different traumatic thing for his family to discuss.)

“Fire!” (Do they even have ammo?)

(Insert medical jargon… can’t go wrong with a punctured lung?)

“He banged his fist against the back door of the safe house.” (There’s a cool password to get in, like “Vatican Cameos.” Maybe… Bar mitzvah Commando?)

(Insert something really witty/ biting/ threatening here.)

In a word, I was inspired to finish this thing. It was rough, but in that one week I accomplished what so many greats have recommended for writing and anything else a person might want to achieve in a given day. Here is what the greats have to say:

“Just do it.”  (Stephen King)

“Just do it!”  (Shia LaBeouf)

“Finish it.”     (Joss Whedon)

“Finish it. Finish it.”    (Neil Gaiman)

 

One thought on “Just do it!

  1. Also Seth Godin, who says, “Click publish.”
    There’s another saying re: first drafts — “Don’t get it right. Get it written.” You can’t revise and edit a blank page!! So, congratulations on the first win!

Leave a Reply

